A Love Letter

You know something about home?
Home is a place, but not just physical
Home is a place, spiritual
It is the presence that is felt when you enter into that place

Like when I enter into you
You are never changing
No matter where I go when I leave
You are still the same
No matter how I have changed when I get back
You are never changing
No matter how many rocks I threw at you when I was angry
You kept me warm all the same
No matter how much I neglected you
You are never changing
No matter how many times I had to say sorry
You forgave me again and again

Home is the strength of familiarity that can receive you time and time again
Like a mother’s embrace, it’s always there
But who am I to take advantage again and again?
Knowing that no matter what you will be there
Like the giving tree you give and give again and again
Like that stupid boy I come back and take more and more to squander every other where

So this time I will stay
I won’t go away
I will replace and rebuild what I took away
I won’t go away
I will dwell in the place where my spirit holds sway
I won’t go away
I have been away long enough to learn that there is nothing out there for me anyway
Because you stayed, I will never again go away

Leave a Reply

